[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 494: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5312: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3925)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5312: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3925)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5312: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3925)
Field Day Forums • Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.
Page 1 of 2

Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:37 pm
by smholland
I've been experimenting today with the new AR functionality. I've watched David's very clear videos several times through and have created the database from Vuforia and brought it into ARIS and made some plaques with AR triggers. I can't seem to get the overlay to show in-camera when viewing the trigger however. The trigger works - I can select "Continue" and move through to view the plaque, but nothing is showing as the overlay media, even though I have media added to the trigger. Am I missing something here? Two of us have now tried this in two different games and we're at the same point. I've updated ARIS on all devices and we have the same result on an iPad Mini, iPad Pro, and iPhone 5S.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:29 am
by rleduc
When you are uploading your image targets to Vuforia, have you tried setting the width to 500 instead of 1? During beta I was having a problem with video overlays not appearing, and it was discovered that the width needed to be set to 500, not 1. I haven't had a chance to test the AR functionality since it's full release though, so you might be experiencing a different issue.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:41 pm
by smholland
To my surprise, that worked.

The AR course definitely needs to be updated to reflect this. At 1:40 in Lesson 1: Creating a Trigger Database, David says to set the width to 1.

Off to make stuff work! Thanks.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:24 pm
by chrish
That's definitely the tough part about video tutorials. No way to easily update small bits of new information. I'll put AR view on my list of things to "manual"

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:31 pm
by smholland
Sure thing. You used to be able to add annotations as corrections to YouTube, but those have been deprecated.

I have one more AR overlay sizing question that I might as well tack on here: In the AR trigger settings in ARIS, you can set the X and Y scale. Is this supposed to change the size of the media overlay? I have tried changing this and see no difference in how the media appears. It would be nice to boost the size of the overlay a tiny bit.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:52 pm
by chrish
I've no idea what those options do and haven't messed with them. As far as making the overlay bigger, you can include more "background" in your original image of the scene that is recognized. If you still want to re-present the background in the altered image, I'd maybe start with the background in Photoshop as your base image, layering atop that. Or maybe I'm misunderstanding what you're after. I fell like we're going to need new language to try and describe these details.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:48 pm
by smholland
Thanks. It's not really essential that we do that, I'm just being picky and also curious about those X/Y sizing options.

There is a painting in our library that we have set up as a target. The target triggers an animated version of the photo, but the photo itself is vertically oriented, taller than it is wide. Since I created the animation at a square 256x256px, the top and bottom of the picture are still visible. It would be nice to make the overlay bigger than the photo on the wall so that those bits are covered up. Or is there a better workaround, such as adding a transparency to the animation, or actually rendering it at something more vertical, like 200x256?

I've attached an image of the painting with a different overlay image that I did during a test session. You can see why I want to do something about the top and bottom parts. Yes, I'm this picky. Thanks for any thoughts you may have. This is not mission critical.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 5:27 pm
by chrish
Hmm, I think my preference would be just to replace everything inside the mat, maybe with bars at the top of the animation.

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:14 am
by matthewhavertz
Thank you so much for this! I was having the same problem. I'm going to try setting the width to 500 and see if that helps. I really appreciate this discussion. :D

Re: Can't get overlays to show on AR targets.

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:54 am
by matthewhavertz
Okay, so I got the basic features to work when I changed the width to 500. However, I'm trying to get a video to play and that is not working for me. What I can do successfully is get an image to overlay. That works fine, but getting a video to play seems impossible. I've tried everything I could think of: decreasing the size of the video, changing my target picture, I've even edited the video to play inside the target image (I just resized it in Adobe Premiere Pro and put the picture on the outside). I don't know how to get it to work. For everyone's information, I am using an iPhone 5. Please help me if you can.