Quest starting again after completion?
  • hhceducation
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:23 pm

    Quest starting again after completion?

    by hhceducation » Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:28 pm

    Hi all,
    I had this problem when I used this last year and never did find a way around it... Once the Quests have been completed by satisfying the lock requirements, we get a pop-up that says the Quest was completed, and then it returns to the first screen of that Quest instead of going back to the Quests tab. We're just using the decoder to input answers at this point (hoping to graduate to AR triggers soon...).
    Is there a setting I am missing? Is this a bug? Help!
    Thanks!
  • User avatar
    djgagnon
    Site Admin
    Posts: 133
    Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:52 pm
    Location: Madison, WI
    Contact:

    Re: Quest starting again after completion?

    by djgagnon » Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:35 pm

    If you touch the top left arrow and return to the quest list, does the quest in question still appear?

    I believe this may just be an issue of the quest never being dismissed under the decoder/quest screen, which is an interface annoyance presenting as a bug.

    DavId
  • hhceducation
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:23 pm

    Re: Quest starting again after completion?

    by hhceducation » Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:55 pm

    The Quest isn't in in the list when I push the back arrow, and it appears in the "completed Quests' section. So it is completing, it just confuses our students when they see the first screen of the Quest come back up once they've finished it.
  • hhceducation
    Posts: 4
    Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:23 pm

    Re: Quest starting again after completion?

    by hhceducation » Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:05 pm

    It doesn't appear in the list of Quests when I hit the back arrow, and does appear in the "completed Quests" section. So they are completing, it just confuses my students when they finish a Quest and are presented with the first screen all over again. I guess I just instruct the groups to push the back button when that happens? It's a shame, as it makes the game look glitchy.
  • User avatar
    chrish
    Posts: 251
    Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:45 pm
    Location: Albuquerque, NM
    Contact:

    Re: Quest starting again after completion?

    by chrish » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:33 pm

    Yes, this is an unfortunate bug that I've encountered as well. The best I can suggest is having your players learn to work around while near help before they stray too far. Or not using quests. I didn't see this until I made a non GPS based game this last year and really needed to rely on the quests tab as a home screen for players.